Standards, Objectives, and Goals, oh my.

So I have been trying to continue this blog but I hit a major roadblock. After a month of research, i can’t find a common definition for what a standard, an objective or an educational goal is. What I have found is that depending on the district, state, or country, the definitions jump around. One state will give a definition of a standard and the next will call it an objective and then the next will call those benchmarks and then focus on goals, which the next state calls an objective.

So I ask all of you. What are your views on all these terms? What is a definition you would give to each? Please comment or write me with your ideas. I desperately need them to continue this conversation.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

